Last weekend I went to a party. The people were terrific company in a down to earth sort of way, and the homemade bbq was outstanding, but I found myself highly disturbed by their home. Everywhere I looked there were decorations and wallpaintings depicting either the Texas states flag or the American flag. This is not the first time I’ve come across this. When I was searching for my home, I came across a number of homes that were filled with this overtly patriotic decor. For every discourse Lacan suggests that we should ask what jouissance is involved?, why do people get so worked up? The question that I’ve been revolving about ever since is what is it that leads people to so heavily identify with something as abstract as a piece of land in this way? I’ve been a nomad all my life, moving from place to place, so I’ve never had a firm sense of place. I like the idea of the cosmopolitan in its literal Greek signification as “citizen of the world”. The only place I’ve ever been strongly identified with is Boston. So what is it that leads one to have such a strong sense of place? What sorts of desires are evinced in surrounding oneself with these sorts of images? What is a person trying to remind themselves of? And what ontological consistency do these sorts of icons provide? If we think of patriotism as being something one gets “in” to like anything else, how does a person get “in” to this as one of the primary meanings of their life? I’m probably not much better as my home is filled with images of figures like Freud, Goethe, Hegel, Nietzsche, and Deleuze, along with lots of framed leaves and impressionistic art… But all the same, I was a bit creeped out.

