The more I look at Tammy Lu’s cover designs, the more I’m blown away. Here’s the design for Graham’s Quadruple Objects:

The design for The Democracy of Objects perfectly, I think, captures the spirit of the book:

This analogy hadn’t occurred to me, but in many respects I think about objects as flowers in bloom, entangled with one another. Somehow Tammy manages to perfectly capture this, creating images of all sorts of ordinary objects like soda tabs, computer cables and shower heads that nonetheless look like blooming flowers. The design is bright and optimistic, yet also harbors a sinister side– just like existence –if you look closely, as there are safety pins all about (withdrawn objects, I suppose, have to be pinned together through vicarious causes), barbwire, and what looks like fishing gear. Brilliant!