Eileen Joy’s talk for the “Animal, Mineral, Vegetable” conference is now posted. I haven’t gotten a chance to read it yet (hopefully this weekend if my Little Bean, Lizzie the four year-old, permits), but I’m especially intrigued by her concept of “texts as sentient objects”. Here it seems that she goes one further than me. Where I argue that texts aren’t simply about something, but also are something (and are therefore objects), Joy argues that they’re sentient objects. You had me at hello! As an aside, why are animals, minerals, and vegetables suddenly all the rage in Medieval studies? Eleanor Kaufman has recently been doing all sorts of fascinating stuff with Medieval thought as well and at the last talk I heard by her (the UCLA “Hello Everything!” symposium) she spoke a great deal about these things as well.